our Services

MLSCN Accreditation Service will offer accreditation services on a national basis, and international when need arises, enabling medical laboratories to reach globally accepted Mutual Recognition Arrangements (MRA) on the validity of reports issued.

MLSCN Accreditation of medical laboratories will be achieved through five stages:

  • Application and Document Review

    All applications for accreditation will be accompanied by a quality manual, safety manual and laboratory handbook detailing the laboratory’s ability to meet the requirements of the standard. A desk review of the documents submitted will be conducted as part of verifying compliance. On acceptance of the application, as well as a confirmation of the applicant’s quality system as documented, a quotation for the relevant fees is sent to the applicant for payment.

  • Pre –assessments

    Prior to embarking on the formal accreditation process, laboratories that seek accreditation, may request for pre-assessment to assess their level of preparedness for accreditation. A pre-assessment is optional but advisable since it prepares the laboratory for the initial assessment by identifying gaps between their current state of readiness and the relevant standard requirements. These gaps can be bridged, where relevant, prior to the initial assessment.

  • Initial Assessment

    Initial assessment is the onsite assessment of the laboratory’s competence to perform specific tasks for which they seek accreditation. The initial assessment covers all aspects the laboratory’s relevant scope for which accreditation is sought. The decision to grant or not to grant accreditation will be based on the information gathered during this assessment.

  • Surveillance Assessment

    After the laboratory has obtained accreditation, MLSCN Accreditation Service will conduct periodic surveillance assessment in line with our policy every 12 months within the accreditation cycle.

  • Re-assessments

    A re-assessment will be conducted at the end of an assessment cycle. An assessment cycle is normally not more than 4 years. The accredited facility applies for renewal of accreditation 6 months prior to the expiration of the certificate of accreditation.